:::Skip to main content
Site Map Contact us 中文版
  • font size
    A A A
Share information to Facebook Share information to Line Forwarding information by email Pop-up print setting
Authorized Economic Operator(AEO)

Introduction of Authorized Economic Operator (AEO)

After the terrorist attacks in September 11, 2001, the World Customs Organization (WCO) realized that the global trading system is very vulnerable and impacted by terrorist attacks. Customs should play a vital role in the security and convenience of global trade, and adopt automated systems to cope with risk management of various issues. In order to comply with the customs of all countries, WCO formulate the framework of standards to secure and facilitate global trade, referred to as SAFE framework.


The SAFE framework of the World Customs Organization (WCO) has two important core concepts:


1. Customs-to-Customs network arrangements

The network agreement is not merely a network connection, it includes various cooperation agreements between transnational customs. For example, mutual entry into the ports of the other country to conduct X-ray inspections and assess the integrity of the employees of the other country falls within this broad scope.

Customs-to-Customs network arrangements

2. Customs-to-Business partnerships

To achieve the goal of "customs cooperation with private enterprises", WCO assigned the authority and responsibility from the customs control of the "importing country" to the customs of the "exporting country" to inspect on its behalf. The customs certification issued by the exporting country are required to confirm the safety of the goods.

Customs-to-Business partnerships



Based on the above principles, WCO passed the Authorized Economic Operator Guidelines (AEO) in January 2006. The industry is mostly called AEO under the WCO SAFE standard. At the same time, the AEO content and related operating standards regulated by WCO SAFE are almost the same as the C-TPAT designed by US Customs and Border Protection.


At present, more than 170 countries around the world are promoting the AEO certification system for high-quality enterprises. More than 40 countries including Taiwan, the European Union, the United States, China and Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Malaysia, etc. have all announced AEO related systems.

More than 13,000 enterprises worldwide have obtained AEO qualifications in local countries, and they are also negotiating to sign Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRA). In the future, after Taiwan and the customs of other countries sign MRA, the AEO qualification of the industry can also be recognized by the government of other countries. By then, global customers will more entrust the safe delivery of goods.

How to apply for AEOS Certification?

There are two types of AEO, namely “General Authorized Economic Operator” (AEOG) and “Security and Safety Authorized Economic Operator” (AEOS) in these Regulation, “Regulations Governing the Certification and Management of the Authorized Economic Operator”. Security and Safety Authorized Economic Operator (AEOS) is equivalent to that WCO passed Authorized Economic Operator (AEO).


Economic operators performing the functions of duty-payers, exporters, manufacturers, customs brokers, freight forwarders, shipping agencies, warehouse operators, highway carriers, sea carriers, and air carriers involved in international movement of goods can apply for AEOS certification.


AEOS Certification Application Process

AEOS Certification Application Process

  • Contact point: Clearance Division II

+886-3-383-4265 Ext 363,364,368

The Relative Information

1、Regulations Governing the Certification and Management of the Authorized Economic Operator

      Qualification & Conditions of AEOS refer to Article 10,11,14-23,24

      Preferential Measures of AEOS refer to Article 15,16

2、Authorized Economic Operator Security Vetting Items and Validation Criteria



Release date:2022-07-04